New computer on the block

September 4, 2008 at 6:04 pm 1 comment

It happened in a shop near me. What I wanted to buy was an external USB disk, but while strolling through the electronics aisle, I picked up a box. In it was a thing of beauty, so beautiful in fact that I could not put the package down. It was 299 Euro. Only two-hundred and ninety-nine Euro for such an amazing piece of equipment. The thing I am talking about, of course, is the Acer Aspire One.

The box I held contained the Linux version of the Aspire. Which is just the one I wanted. There are enough websites where you can check the specs of this baby, so I won’t repeat them here.

I just wanted to share my impressions of this nifty little computer.And as far as impressions go, I must say that I am indeed quite impressed.

What I like about the Aspire One :

  • It’s very small and light so it’s easy to carry in my backpack.
  • It boots in about 14 secs. That’s fast.
  • It has an Atom CPU, which is all the hype right now.
  • The little mouse pad works very well.
  • Same goes for the keyboard.
  • The GUI works for 99% like Windows. Which is important since I’m used to that.
  • It’s pretty fast for such a modest cpu.
  • With some hacking you can install extra software, tweaking it to your heart’s desire.
  • The screen is very good quality.
  • The (W)LAN connectivity works without a hitch. ( note : WLAN did not work with my mom’s Dlink router. )
  • You can write blog posts while watching tv, which is what I’m doing right now.
  • You can impress other people by being the first to actually own one of these cool gizmos.

The moneymoon is still going on with this machine. I would recommend it to everyone. If you wonder what you are going to do with it, just buy one, and wonder no more.

Use it as :

  • an extra surfing pc around the house
  • a companion to a digital camera to unload pictures and do some basic processing.
  • a computer for the kids
  • a portable movie player
  • a cool piece of kit to look at

It’s been a while since I have been so enthusiastic about a computer. These new netbooks are pretty revolutionary in that they use commodity hardware to provide a basic and low-cost computing experience. But at the same time, they are pretty powerful little computers. You can hook up an external mouse, keyboard and screen, so it can be used as a basic desktop pc as well.

I leave you with a picture ripped shamelessly off Flickr :

Acer Aspire One

Entry filed under: Truly important stuff. Tags: .

Random Web Rant Chrome

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. qbziz  |  March 4, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    It’s now being used by my 7 year old daughter, who uses it as her gateway into all kinds of sites about tv-shows with an abundance of flash games.
    She googles, then clicks the top link and off she goes.
    And me nor my better half have ever told her how to google.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

