It’s so much better

August 1, 2007 at 4:36 pm Leave a comment

My recently acquired RockShox Pike 409 coil-spring suspension fork has been installed, thanks to the help of a friendly colleague who happens to have a fully equipped bike workshop in her garage.

My first test rides have been very positive, from the driveway test to the can’t-wait-to-try-it-out dirt quest. This fork makes my bike so much better. The adjustable travel works great. I didn’t think I was going to fiddle with that much, but it really works, and can alter my bike’s geometry from XC to freeride with the twist of a handle. You can even easily get to it while riding, to adjust it on the fly.

The lock-out, the feature that allows you to only allow minimal fork movement, also works like a charm, and I can see myself using that when climbing.

A few pictures to lively things up around here :

Newly installed Pike suspension fork

Detail of fork

For those that are really paying attention, you can also see my new Maxxis High Roller 2.35 tires. Again, so much better than my old Tioga Factory DH 2.1. The funny thing is that even though the High Rollers are 2.35 wide, they are in fact thinner than my 2.1 Tioga’s. Anyway, the 2.35 is the perfect size for me.

A couple of future upgrades :

  • Rear hub : it is starting to make strange noises.
  • Front hub : current hub is KK Disc QR20 and I have converted it to a regular 20mm hub but the mechanical integrity is not 100%. Currently the bearings are stressed axially while installing the wheel and this increases rolling resistance and bearing wear.
  • Bottom bracket : making a strange clicking noise.
  • Rims : current stock rims are a bit heavy and since installing the new brakes and fork, my bike could stand to shed some weight.

In a future post, I will explain which components I am favoring as replacements.

Entry filed under: Truly important stuff.

Still owed you one How to do a lot of riding

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


