I like, eees nice

December 1, 2009 at 12:04 pm 1 comment

Sometimes I like to prepare food. I would use the word ‘cook’ but that could remind you of a real cook. Someone like him

or her

( i also like, eees also nice )

So let’s just call me a food-preparer. Basically, I like to keep it very basic, putting my faith more in my ingredients than in my own food-preparing skillzzzz.
However, how-very-much-ever, I do need to use the same utensils that actual cooks use. And my main utensil is the venerable wok.

Since I don’t have one of these bad mofo’s :

I don’t use one of these babies :

But I did use one of these beauties :

A cast-iron Le Creuset wok. Its ability to store a lot of heat, made it possible to do some reasonable wokking on a vitroceramic cooking plate.
Cleaning it afterwards is something else. The best way to do it was to fill it partly with water and some washing powder and letting it soak for a night.
And even then, you’d need to scrub and scratch until completely ready for the next session. Yes, I do know that you have to season it, by letting some arachide oil cook in it for a while.
This is something you have to repeat when the wok becomes sticky again, but mine turned sticky right away. The seasoning itself is not a pleasant task either. Would like you to keep yourself busy watching hot oil boil in a pot? Not to mention the fact that the whole house smells like a fastfood joint afterwards.
So I decided that seasoning was not for me, and continued using the sticky wok while thouroughly cleaning it afterwards.

That is why I am so happy that I have recently acquired this fly boy :

It has a non-stick Thermolon layer which can withstand temperatures of 400+ degrees celsius and is completely non-toxic. It’s also much smoother than Teflon.
If you dig in, and read the interweb reviews for Thermolon pans you will find two camps : very happy or very sad customers.
Some claim that the non-stick properties soon fade, and that the layer starts to crack.
Since I have only used it once – which great results –  I can’t really comment on the long term quality. What I did find out however, is that you need to let it heat up sufficiently because some foods can stick to it at lower temperatures.
I had absolutely nothing stick to it, and cleaning it consisted of a rinse with some soapy water and a soft sponge.

So this wok is another great addition to my food preparing arsenal. I will keep you guys posted on the long term effects of food preparing on this wok.

Entry filed under: Truly important stuff.

And now… Less

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. qbziz  |  January 23, 2010 at 10:36 am

    After extensive use, it still cooks great but there is a spot that tends to attract a black residu when cooking. It’s easily scraped off, but the non-stick layer has lost some of its extraordinary non-stickness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


