They say longboarding is like snowboarding

July 30, 2012 at 1:52 pm Leave a comment

( Well, they probably haven’t been falling much )

A while ago I had the opportunity to try out a couple of longboards. You know a longboard is like a skateboard, only longer. It feels a lot different than a skateboard though. A skateboard is quite twitchy and requires pretty good focus. There is not a lot of room for error on a skateboard. A longboard is more relaxed. I personally do not like to stand on a skateboard at all, I just know it’s going to throw me off at an unpredictable point in space and time. But I did like the feel of a longboard very much. I also noticed it was quite a workout for my feet and knees.

So I do what I always do when I get interested in something that’s not too expensive : consume !

That’s’ right, I got myself a nice budget longboard.

it’s long, it’s a board

And off I went riding it. Around the house a bit. A parking lot here, a basketball court there, the street. As long as it has a relatively smooth surface it can be ridden.

Today I tried to do the toeside pushup-slide. It’s supposed to be the simplest slide in longboarding. My main reason for learning this, is to have a way to stop. So I am not yet interested in a fancy 180 slide, or whatever variation this trick has to offer, I just need a way for my wheels to come to a complete stop as soon as possible.
The good news is that my protective gear was completely undamaged.
And that I did manage to pull off something where my wheels were sliding orthogonally to the natural longboard direction, for a short while.
Now excuse me, as I am going to ice my hip some more.

Entry filed under: Truly important stuff.

So long, and thanks for all the phish

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


